Skip to content
East Sussex Counts — East Sussex, in numbers.Local help →

Lewes, in numbers

People and living standards: Lewes

Lewes local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Lewes local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 88,214 in 1991 to 102,648 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Lewes council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 88,933 people in 1996; 102,648 people in 2025. 15.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Lewes council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199188,214
199288,958
199389,256
199489,568
199589,530
199688,933
199788,713
199888,974
199990,848
200091,603
200192,247
200292,901
200393,227
200493,794
200593,832
200694,162
200794,782
200895,455
200996,114
201097,079
201197,584
201298,532
201399,215
201499,607
201599,717
2016100,062
2017100,434
2018100,589
2019100,813
2020100,443
2021100,166
2022100,655
2023101,645
2024102,323
2025102,648
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Lewes council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,135 people in 1996; 16,349 people in 2025. 4.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Lewes council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,586
199216,874
199317,060
199417,299
199517,290
199617,135
199717,121
199817,221
199917,533
200017,395
200117,305
200217,243
200317,232
200417,175
200516,953
200616,812
200716,648
200816,585
200916,635
201016,846
201116,938
201217,197
201317,221
201417,090
201517,068
201617,150
201717,089
201817,052
201916,935
202016,756
202116,650
202216,636
202316,601
202416,517
202516,349
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Lewes council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 51,362 people in 1996; 58,198 people in 2025. 13.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Lewes council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199151,542
199251,881
199351,877
199451,865
199551,747
199651,362
199751,159
199851,206
199952,824
200053,566
200154,111
200254,752
200355,106
200455,668
200555,815
200656,437
200757,158
200857,547
200957,781
201058,215
201158,364
201258,083
201358,162
201458,140
201557,828
201657,749
201757,764
201857,625
201957,566
202057,310
202156,849
202256,965
202357,727
202458,060
202558,198
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Lewes council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,436 people in 1996; 28,101 people in 2025. 37.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Lewes council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,086
199220,203
199320,319
199420,404
199520,493
199620,436
199720,433
199820,547
199920,491
200020,642
200120,831
200220,906
200320,889
200420,951
200521,064
200620,913
200720,976
200821,323
200921,698
201022,018
201122,282
201223,252
201323,832
201424,377
201524,821
201625,163
201725,581
201825,912
201926,312
202026,377
202126,667
202227,054
202327,317
202427,746
202528,101
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 99,909 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Lewes · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,8991.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7220.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,4612.5%
White94,10194.2%
Other ethnic group7260.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 97,502 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Lewes · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White94,15996.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,2751.3%
Asian/Asian British1,4001.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4160.4%
Other ethnic group2520.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 92,177 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Lewes · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White90,26397.9%
Mixed6650.7%
Asian/Asian British5470.6%
Black/Black British2040.2%
Chinese/Other4980.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 18.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Lewes council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,326 per person in 1997; £30,837 per person in 2024. 150.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Lewes council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,326
199812,546
199912,787
200013,410
200114,000
200214,157
200314,424
200414,862
200515,630
200616,194
200717,615
200817,997
200918,140
201018,596
201118,545
201218,935
201319,992
201420,394
201521,836
201622,277
201722,464
201823,125
201924,374
202023,562
202124,441
202226,628
202329,035
202430,837
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Lewes council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 16.2% in 1997; 18.8% in 2024. 2.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Lewes council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199716.2
199815.9
199913
200012.7
200113.2
200211.9
200310.6
20049.5
200511.2
200610.6
200714.8
200814.3
200913.3
201015.1
201113.8
201212.1
201314.1
201412.8
201514.8
201615.7
201714
201813.3
201915.7
202012.3
202111.9
202216
202318.7
202418.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53.5%

21 March 2021 · Lewes local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.1%

21 March 2021 · Lewes local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.1%

21 March 2021 · Lewes local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.5%

21 March 2021 · Lewes local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£368,000

July 2026 · Lewes local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,333

August 2026 · Lewes local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.