Skip to content
East Sussex Counts — East Sussex, in numbers.Local help →

Rother, in numbers

People and living standards: Rother

Rother local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Rother local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 82,761 in 1991 to 96,150 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Rother council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 85,981 people in 1996; 96,150 people in 2025. 11.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Rother council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199182,761
199282,590
199383,258
199483,812
199584,299
199685,981
199785,925
199886,609
199986,299
200086,158
200185,471
200286,174
200386,718
200487,183
200587,684
200688,221
200789,262
200890,120
200990,123
201090,578
201190,729
201290,735
201390,487
201491,269
201591,751
201692,314
201792,904
201892,832
201992,581
202092,734
202193,409
202294,255
202395,035
202495,947
202596,150
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Rother council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,180 people in 1996; 13,881 people in 2025. 8.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Rother council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,727
199213,900
199314,283
199414,591
199514,788
199615,180
199715,189
199815,360
199914,985
200014,901
200114,496
200214,580
200314,582
200414,607
200514,495
200614,441
200714,522
200814,477
200914,362
201014,321
201114,257
201214,137
201313,853
201413,761
201513,885
201613,822
201713,801
201813,779
201913,772
202013,677
202113,605
202213,793
202313,872
202414,021
202513,881
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Rother council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 45,833 people in 1996; 50,330 people in 2025. 9.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Rother council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199143,890
199243,589
199343,916
199444,230
199544,577
199645,833
199745,929
199846,448
199946,721
200046,797
200146,570
200247,056
200347,602
200448,101
200548,736
200649,327
200750,070
200850,651
200950,516
201050,657
201150,488
201249,694
201349,124
201449,266
201549,206
201649,328
201749,395
201849,085
201948,648
202048,714
202149,386
202249,694
202350,151
202450,523
202550,330
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Rother council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,968 people in 1996; 31,939 people in 2025. 27.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Rother council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,144
199225,101
199325,059
199424,991
199524,934
199624,968
199724,807
199824,801
199924,593
200024,460
200124,405
200224,538
200324,534
200424,475
200524,453
200624,453
200724,670
200824,992
200925,245
201025,600
201125,984
201226,904
201327,510
201428,242
201528,660
201629,164
201729,708
201829,968
201930,161
202030,343
202130,418
202230,768
202331,012
202431,403
202531,939
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 93,114 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rother · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,3901.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5610.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,7021.8%
White88,99395.6%
Other ethnic group4680.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 90,588 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rother · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White87,95197.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,0311.1%
Asian/Asian British1,1031.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3050.3%
Other ethnic group1980.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 85,428 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rother · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White83,81098.1%
Mixed5300.6%
Asian/Asian British3830.4%
Black/Black British1650.2%
Chinese/Other5400.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 10.2% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Rother council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,703 per person in 1997; £28,615 per person in 2024. 144.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Rother council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,703
199811,761
199912,279
200012,935
200113,735
200213,928
200314,242
200414,521
200515,177
200615,699
200716,853
200817,259
200917,794
201018,382
201118,290
201218,844
201320,067
201420,283
201521,417
201621,756
201721,913
201822,776
201923,241
202023,272
202123,673
202225,031
202326,926
202428,615
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Rother council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 10.3% in 1997; 10.2% in 2024. 0.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Rother council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199710.3
19988.6
19998.5
20008.7
200111
200210.1
20039.3
20047
20058
20067.2
20079.8
20089.6
200911.1
201013.8
201112.3
201211.6
201314.6
201412.2
201512.6
201613
201711.2
201811.6
201910.3
202010.9
20218.4
20229
202310.1
202410.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

47.7%

21 March 2021 · Rother local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.5%

21 March 2021 · Rother local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.9%

21 March 2021 · Rother local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6%

21 March 2021 · Rother local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£338,000

July 2026 · Rother local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,165

August 2026 · Rother local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.