Skip to content
East Sussex Counts — East Sussex, in numbers.Local help →

East Sussex, in numbers

Projects

East Sussex County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Exceat and the wider East Sussex road network

Exceat Bridge and bridge maintenance

The annual programme includes the Exceat replacement alongside other structures work.

Included in the 2026/27 capital programme; bridge opening not established · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: East Sussex County Council

What the source says: The capital plan groups Exceat with bridge and structure maintenance. Its programme allocation is not solely the price of Exceat Bridge.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Council Plan 2026/27 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Use a clear public investment programme →

Keep bridge delivery and disruption visible →

Target safety work where problems repeat →

How to track delivery →

Hastings town centre

Hastings town-centre public spaces and connections

The plan funds work on streets and connections around Hastings town centre.

2026/27 planned investment; completed public-space improvements not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: East Sussex County Council

What the source says: Hastings Town Centre Public Realm and Green Connections is listed separately from Hastings and Bexhill movement work.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Council Plan 2026/27 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Use a clear public investment programme →

Connect Hastings improvements to daily destinations →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

East Sussex County Council area

Additional specialist school places

The school programme includes places for pupils needing specialist support and repairs to existing buildings.

2026/27 planned investment; sites and staffed places require separate confirmation · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: East Sussex County Council

What the source says: Additional specialist places and building repairs are separate elements of the school capital programme.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Council Plan 2026/27 →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Use a clear public investment programme →

Make new specialist places useful to families →

How to track delivery →

Work in each district

Eastbourne Borough Council

Eastbourne →

Eastbourne’s seafront economy sits alongside housing pressure and the needs of an older population. Current work covers town-centre routes, household services and council housing repairs. The borough and county have different responsibilities.

£255,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Eastbourne local authority area

9 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Hastings Borough Council

Hastings →

Hastings is investing in its heritage while trying to improve everyday neighbourhood services. Castle plans, lift restoration and street-level staffing are separate programmes. Development grants and planned visitor benefits are not completed outcomes.

£239,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Hastings local authority area

16 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Lewes District Council

Lewes →

Lewes district includes Lewes, Newhaven, Peacehaven, Seaford and rural villages. Housing proposals, council-home services and coastal bus links meet different local needs. National Park planning responsibilities also affect parts of the district.

£368,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Lewes local authority area

21 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Rother District Council

Rother →

Rother includes Bexhill, Battle, Rye and rural communities. Its current programme includes a completed Sidley building, phased heritage repairs and a proposed medical centre. A building handover, an operating service and a forecast are different milestones.

£338,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Rother local authority area

21 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Wealden District Council

Wealden →

Wealden’s towns and villages face different pressures from growth. The council has delivered housing, business units and sports facilities, while a new medical centre remains in development. Access to each site matters as much as district-wide totals.

£391,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Wealden local authority area

41 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →